Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free.What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

According to a recently documented research, many criminals who were sent to jail tend to resort to committing crimes on being set free. Two of the most common reasons could be old habits die hard and the stigma of being termed a criminal. While not much can be done to change a person's personality, they can be taught a skill and integrated in society.This essay shall discuss these reasons and provide solution to the problem.

To begin with, many commit petty crimes namely shoplifting and pick pocketing as they are habitual to it and have mastered the art. In addition, they enjoy the trill and find it impossible to change even after being sent to prison. Secondly, once someone is sent to prison, irrespective of the nature of the crime and on being set free they will always be identified as a prisoner. They find it extremely tedious to find employment and consequently resume their criminal activities to sustain themselves. Therefore, in order to avoid rejection and the difficulty change one's character forces them to embrace their dark side.

Although, some habits are deeply ingrained and impossible to break, efforts should be made to teach them a skill. During their duration in prison, the officials must ensure they impart some knowledge and inculcate the inmates with skills that are essential to survive in the real world. For example, prisons these days have mandatory computer classes to update to date with technology along with compulsory exercise or sports to maintain a healthy life. Moreover, the government has introduced reformation programs where prisoners on being set free have to devote some time volunteering and on successful completion and satisfactory results they are placed in corporate jobs.

To conclude, old habits and bad publicity forces people to commit crimes even when they are set free. Encouraging them to transform and acceptance by society can get them on the right path.