Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free.

What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

A study shows that there are a high proportion of inmates recommitting crimes once released. The primary cause of this phenomenon is that most the prison systems are a punishment system and the most viable solution is changing to rehabilitate prisoners.

The main reason associated with a high rate of repeat offenders is that the principal purpose of prison is to punish criminals and this system does not provide inmates any skill to get a job after being released. Therefore, offenders find difficult to earn a living and have to rely on the financial support of their families. Subsequently, criminals have no way to repeatedly commit offences in order to make a living. For example, a study of American prisons in 2017 where is the punishment system applied showed that just under 30% of inmates serving their first prison sentence.

To tackle this issue governments should shift their prison system to rehabilitation because the prisoners can reintegrate into society once set free. If, upon released, offenders can get an opportunity to a job and they can support their families as well as enjoy their freedom which they can not get in jail. Moreover, this would shed some light on people who committed crimes in their early adulthood to life a normal live after prison terms. For instance, Ireland has changed its prison system to rehabilitate inmates since 2015 and it witnesses 15% decrease of repeat offenders the following year.

In conclusion, the main cause of the high proportion of criminals recommitting crimes is the punishment system of many prisons which does not help inmates to reintegrate once released and the proper solution of this is shifting to a rehabilitation system.