Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of the old houses in the local areas, while others think that people should have the freedom to build houses of their own styles.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it is argued that it should be the same architectural design for both new and old houses, others think that the owners should be let free to decide it. Although following the old style is preservation efforts on local values, I believe that it is private property and be built for their comfort.

Some would argue that constructing a new house in a common style help preserving the distinctive architecture and cultural values in the locality. If the conservation process is doing well, it will draw more tourists to these places due to its outstanding historic values. For example, the Old Quarter Hanoi, which is the historic civic urban core of this city, has a worldwide reputation for a range of traditional buildings and is visited by millions of travellers every year. However, I believe that individuals should have the freedom to decide that suitable style for their houses.

On the other hand, others think that the owners should have the right to choose the architectural style for their houses because they have the property right and it should follow the social and technological development. The modern style brings convenience, comfort, and safety for the homeowners rather than the traditional style. For instance, the modern house in Japan can stay firmly after an earthquake with its cutting-edge technology while the traditional one fails to do it. Moreover, I believe that the house also demonstrates the owners’ character and aesthetic taste as their assets.

In conclusion, although following the common house style is a way of conserving local values, I believe that the home-owner should be free to construct their house to maximize utilities and comfort.