As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is a growing demand for more flights. what problems does this have on the environment? what measures could be taken?

What is the most efficient means of transportation when traveling long distance? Many would unanimously agree with traveling in a flight which is comfortable and time saving. However, due to the boom of tourism and a significant increase of travelers, there has been an increase in demand for additional flights. Although it may seem beneficial, it has serious repercussions on the environment. This essay shall analyze the problems and provide valuable solutions.

Firstly, fights run on petrol, which is the main contributor of air pollution. Increase in the number flights will accelerate the depletion of oil reserves which are already on the verge of becoming scare. For instance, according to a recently documented survey, the sale of fuel rose exponentially from 10% to 60%, with airlines being the major buyer. Therefore, if this trend continuous, oil will rapidly deplete and air pollution will be irreversible.

Secondly, various exquisite wildlife is found in the Arctic and Antarctic areas, which are unique and exclusive to that region. However, these areas also have access to huge amount of underground oil and fuel. If the number of flights increases, companies will be forced to exploit these areas to meet their fuel demand. For example, recently shell corporation wanted to set up a plant in the Arctic region to the rising demands of petrol. Threaten natural reserves to satisfy the growing demands for flight is very dangerous

This can be solved using two measures. First and foremost airlines should adopt environmental friendly and sustainable fuel. Similarly, airline companies should ensure that they are fully booked before flying or instead use a small plane if there are not too many people. Step by step if all airlines work collectively towards the common goal of saving the environment, the problem of air pollution and danger to exotic nature can be eradicated