With the rise in e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, due to advancement in the technology, people are much inclined towards buying electronic books rather than paper books. But there has always been a conflict in individuals thoughts regarding this. Some are happy because these are less costly and can be carried easily while travelling but on the other hand, few believe that it is not a good option because it is not accessible to those who are underprivileged.

To begin with. It is true that invention of electronic books has been a boon for those who love reading books. As a result, human beings do not need to carry heavy books while they are travelling. Also, they can download plethora of books at cheap rates in their laptops or kindle. For instance, a recent study showed the sale of e-books on online shopping sites has been increased due to its less price and weight rather than expensive and heavy hard copies. Consequently, individuals find e books more convenient and enjoyable than paper books.

However, we cannot ignore the unfavourable outcomes of the technology for those who are still dependent on conventional method of reading due to various reason. Mostly human beings are not able to afford e-books due to lack of money to buy expensive laptops or kindle which can carry abundance of books. For example, in a developing country like India where people do not have enough money to fulfil their basic needs, find it very difficult to buy expensive gadgets to download electronic books. Hence, people are largely dependent on paper books because they cannot afford buying expensive gadgets.

To sum up, keeping in mind the demand of Individuals, invention of e books has been advantageous in many ways. But, it is not convenient for everyone to buy the expensive luxurious items such as laptops and kindle to store e-books. Hence, government should encourage inventions and simultaneously work towards those who are not able to take advantage from this.