Safety standards are important when building people's homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes - the government or the people who build the houses.

Use your own knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Surviving in a safe environment is what all thrive for. So, it becomes imperative that the homes we build and live in are safe. Houses and colonies should be constructed with all the requisite safety features in occurrence of accidents. In order to achieve this, a shared responsibility of government and the people is vital.

The authorities should implement a model that any new construction plan has to be approved by all the involved departments such as Environmental Board, Urban Development Board, etc. A protocol for each type of construction should be designed, be it a commercial complex or a residential block or a hospital. Making it obligatory to build structures in accord with all the safety standards and approvals will render a safer environment. Therefore, the onus is on the government to enforce stiffer codes for buildings. Luton, a suburb to London, sets an example of planned architecture laying much importance to safety norms. Every building has adequate emergency and fire exits and has ample area of setback.

Though imposing standards is an initiative which government has to focus on, it is an equal responsibility that people also have to share. People should be falling in line voluntarily to construct buildings abiding by the law. An inevitable fact that has to be understood is that standards are for their own well-being. Furthermore, imposing high penalties or demolition of illegal constructions will also deter people from blatantly flouting and violating the construction regulations.

In conclusion, governments and people should collaborate to build safer homes for themselves.