Safety standards are important when building people's homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes – the government or the people who build the homes

Home, a safe place for living, is a fundamental need of every human being and safety is an important issue that should get utmost importance. Housing quality and its safety are thus two great concerns and whether the government or individuals should be accountable for ensuring strict building code is controversial. I personally believe that both the government and people should be responsible for the safety criteria.With the world economic crisis in 2007, there were many commercial frauds in constructing houses due to the increasing prices of the building materials like cement and steel. The owners began to build their houses with low-quality materials and at the same time, they constructed more floors than permitted to secure big profits. Hence the government must take strict actions against those owners who did not comply with safety standards as people avoid their roles in many cases. The government also have to build inspection authorities to the factories that manufacture building material to guarantee the standard and safety measurements. On the other hand, the constructing companies must oblige with the legal standards. Otherwise, their activity license should be cancelled or they should be forced to pay a big monetary fine. At the same time, people should be aware of the quality before buying or renting an apartment. More rigid steps should be followed while building a house. Unsafe houses are great threats for them and they would ultimately be the victim in case safety standards are not maintained while constructing any building. In conclusion, the government has a greater role of ensuring home safety standards. Besides individuals should also abide by the safety rules and codes.