Science advanced so much that It can now make it possible for people to live 100 years or even 200. some people think it is a good thing, other think that it is a bad thing. discuss both views and give your opinion

Medical science has increased the life expectancy from the past couple of decades. This achievement has positive consequences as well as negative. I strongly believe that it has resulted in some serious threats to our society.

Science and technology have radically changed the world we live in. They are affecting all aspects of our life and one of the major contributions is in the field of medicine. Advance technology has tremendously helped in detecting diseases at the early stages and medicine is curing the incurable ones in the previous centuries. Consequently, this has resulted in better health and longer life. Hence, the benefits of it cannot be ignored. First and foremost, they have invaluable experience of a broader range of subjects, which are tested, know the big picture and know how to tackle the complicated situation in a couple of minutes. Secondly, as they are physically stronger, they can work longer years than before and will be able to support them financially as well as physically. Additionally, this will increase their self- esteem as they will feel useful and make a positive contribution to the community.

On the other hand, this has also posed some serious threats. With time cognitive and analytical skill of human beings deteriorate, they are not fast enough on making a decision, and scared to take risks. Secondly, this is a technology related world, the way business, industries and corporation’s works has changed. If you want to be competitive in the industry and take cutting-edge over rival, you need to be ahead of others, and that could be only achieved by learning new ways. But there is a saying that “you can’t teach old dog new tricks”. Thirdly, each company or business has fix hierarchical structure. There are only limited vocations in offices. If older generation will work after 60, the younger generation would not be hired by companies and corporation. This in turn increases stress, anxiety and depression. Companies will suffer too, as youngsters are more energetic, have innovative and creative ideas. In addition to this, they are open to new learning and has hands-on experience of the latest technologies.

In conclusion, I think science achievement in respect of longer life span should be appreciated as this is a major step forward. However, Increased life span will deprive new generation of their rights and this will consequently create a holistic environment.