Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, we are able to develop medicines for most of the life-threatening diseases, as a result, human life expectancy has increased and people often believe that in the future we would be able to live 100 to 200 years. Although some would argue that increased lifespan will help people become more satisfied and loved, others think that it will cause an increase in the population of old people and put an extra burden on the natural resources and I agree.

Certainly, people will welcome an increase in their lifespan and families will be delighted to spend extra years with their loved ones. In other words, the future generation will be able to spend more time with their grandparents. In addition, some people also believe that elders are more experienced and they have better capabilities of taking diplomatic decisions. For instance, experienced persons are given priority for the position of a prime minister and so far in the history of independent India, we have not seen any young prime minister.

On the other hand, it is often argued that an increase in life expectancy will put more burden on the earth. that is to say that if the rate of death decreases there will be an increase in the rate at which population is growing. To full the needs of this increased population, more resources will be required. In my opinion, we are already at the point where the earth will not be able to sustain life even if there is a slight percentage of increase in the population of the world. For instance, for centuries life expectancy was 45 to 50 years and the population had managed to grow to 2 billion till the start of the 20th century, but by the 1950s life expectancy grew to 70 years and in just 50 years world population grew up to 7.2 billion. Ever depleting predicament of the earth will not be able to sustain life beyond this point.

In conclusion, increase in the lifespan will bring joys to the families, however, it will increase the population and nature will have to pay the cost. In no time, it will become impossible to produce goods for such a number of people