Scientists believe that in order to protect the environment people must use less energy in their daily lives However most people have not changed the way they live Why do you think many people have not taken individual action What could be done to encoura

The course of human civilization has had a devastating effect on the environment. Now we are facing problems such as – melting of glaciers, depletion of the ozone layer and Climate change to name a few. Environmentalists have been warning the governments and the general public over many years now but with no effect. People still have no regard for the indiscriminate use of coal derived fuels and wastage of water. This could be due to the lack of economical alternatives in the market or a feeling of apathy due to the extremeness of present lifestyle. We must encourage people to take part in the preservation of the environment by introducing safe, effective and economical alternatives and by government regulation.

Many citizens are aware of the environmental concerns from the exhaust from industries and vehicles. The dependence of today’s’ life on coal based fuels is extreme and has been developed over the past centuries. It will be time consuming and expensive to make a system change. Though many environmentally safe alternatives exist they are out of the reach of the common man. For example, battery operated cars are expensive and the networks of charging stations are still developing whereas, petrol and diesel filling stations with facilities are easily available.

People can be encouraged to conserve energy by making the alternatives more accessible to all sections of society. Governments must support by companies developing environmental safe products and technology by offering incentives. Education is also an important factor, as the consumers today are busy and stressed and do not have the time to spend seeking out new products and methods of saving energy.

In conclusion, we must become a more environmentally sound society so that our children will be able to inherit an inhabitable earth. This is our responsibility as parents and caregivers. It is unfortunate that we have neglected this for convenience and greed. Therefore all action must be taken to correct this environmental degradation.