Scientists believe that in order to protect the environment, people must use less energy in their daily lives. However, most people have not changed the way they live. Why do you think many people have not taken individual action? What could be done to encourage them to take action?

Energy demand is soaring as the economies are moving towards innovation and development. Major source of producing energy is by consumption of fossil fuels, that cannot fulfill future demands of this planet. So, according to scientific studies, to preserve our mother earth humanity should use energy judiciously. However, the action required by this generation to save fuel is not encouraging. This paragraph will discuss why we have failed to take much initiative and what will be the source of inspiration to take future action.

Firstly, we as mass consumers of this energy in the form of electricity and fuel are affected by shortsightedness as we prioritize personal interests over society or national goals. In addition to this central and state governments have no clear directive of minimizing the dependence on major fuels. Therefore, no mechanism is set up to charge penalty for wastage of energy. This has lead to easy availability of power and masses have forgotten the value of energy. For example, according to recent study by National Pollution Board, there was 50% increase in fuel consumption on traffic lights as drivers avoid shutting off the engine.

Secondly, savings on this limited resource should be inculcated in primary school curriculum. Energy efficient alternatives should be promoted in a way that general public understands long term life effects, if we run out of generating energy. One way of making it viable is by choosing energy ambassadors from each province who can drive the mindset of putting less stress on this globe by effective use of digital platforms. To cite an example, by installing LED technology as compared to traditional one, we can show the monthly savings on usage of one mega watt of electricity.

To conclude, self awareness is missing among many that we cannot tread long in our power needs if we do not change our habits. However, it is possible by consciously involving everyone we can drive the transformation in our actions and lead towards a safer and healthy planet.