While some people consider global warming to be the most pressing environmental problem which we have at the moment, others believe that deforestation has a more devastating impact on our world. Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

In the ever expanding commercial world, humans have over exploited the natural resources to their material comforts. This has lead to extensive pressure on this green planet. Thus, a recent phenomenon of rising earth’s temperature is among most debatable topic around the globe as per certain groups. Whilst others have the opinion that cutting of forest cover has enormous ecological impact. This essay will discuss both the concerns and state the opinion why global warming can cause irreversible damage.

Firstly, reckless burning of fossil fuels in the name of development and extremely rising greenhouse emission levels has lead to jump in global temperature. Therefore, its repercussions can be felt, when we listen to the scientists theory of melting arctic ice. This will definitely engross land mass and put humanity living near coastal areas in jeopardy. People will loose their homes and livelihood and catastrophe may strike. For instance, a recent research by science magazine concluded if we emit green house gases at the same rate, in next one decade 10 centimeters of the land will be submerged under water.

On the other hand, unplanned cutting of green cover for infrastructure growth or to satisfy our materialistic demands can aggravate to rapid soil erosion. As the forest cover will deplete, it will hamper the food chain. Food scarcity and unavailability of nutrition for masses will bring crisis. Nations with geographical disadvantage will suffer the most. For instance, in Syria, deforestation of green pastures for creating urban spaces has lead to financial in debtness due to lack in production of major staple crops.

To summarize, afforestation and keeping environmental checks with legal recourse, we can still cover up the harmful impact of cutting forest covers, but consequences of global warming may not be revised in long run and can have a major impact on development goals of many countries and the true impact of this has yet to be ascertained.