Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advancement in technology, the world has become global resulting in scientists predicting that in future people will speak only one language. However, I believe that this will negatively impact society because of the rising unemployment rate and damaging the culture of a country.

Undoubtedly, speaking the same language have its benefits. Most important advantage will be the ease of communication among people as everybody will speak the same language. Also, it will help tourists, who can travel without the fear of having a language barrier. That will positively impact on the relations of countries. However, this trend will raise the issue of unemployment for the people who are working as translators and interpreters. Therefore, one global language can have its benefits but people will lose their livelihood because of it.

Another major problem of single language will be the damaging of the culture of a country. Since the language is associated with the culture of a country and mostly the folklore's and history are in local languages. Therefore, by having only one language for communication will result in the diminishing of culture and history of a country.

Furthermore, the new generation will not be aware of past glories and achievements of ancestors. For instance, the mode of communication in northern parts of Pakistan was Urdu but the new generation is communicating in the English language, as a result, they are not only unaware of folklore's but also achievements.

In conclusion, having a single language will not only increases unemployment but also diminishes the culture and history of a country. Therefore, I strongly believe that it will have a negative effect on our society.