Increasing the petrol price is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree. What other measures do you think might be effective?

Increase in traffic and pollution is a major concern for all countries. The easiest way to tackle these issues is by hiking fuel tariff and I totally agree with this notion. However, other measures like controlling the ease of acquiring the vehicles and good transport system can be very effective to solve these problems.

Firstly, the increase in number of cars in the city is directly related with the increase in pollution and traffic. One way to sort it is through increasing the gasoline prices. By doing so, people will prefer to use public transport resulting in less number of cars on the roads. For instance, in Pakistan, the government had increased the gasoline prices resulting in people sharing or using public transport and in one year they are able to substantially tackle these issues.

Secondly, the government should introduce such laws that will make it difficult for consumers to lease cars from banks. At the moment, anyone, with minor salary and less paper work, can easily buy it on installments from financial institutes. This trend can be easily tackle by increasing the cutoff limit for monthly income and also by increasing the amount of interest required to pay. By introducing this, the number of vehicles will reduce on the roads which will impact positively on the environment and traffic.

Thirdly, this issue can be tackle by encouraging the people by using public transport or share vehicles. For this, the concern authority has to advertise the benefits of using public transport and on motorways can introduce special lanes for buses and share cars. For example, in England, they have dedicated lanes for buses and share cars on highways.  In this way, the amount of cars on the roads will reduce resulting in less traffic and positive impact on pollution.

In conclusion, apart from increasing fuel prices will help in tackle pollution and traffic problems but also the difficulty in purchasing cars and use of public transport or sharing cars will help in effectively tackling these issues.