With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that providing food to everyone is a problem that can be tackled by genetically modifying the food. Although some people think that it is not the best solution, however, I strongly believe that it is because of three main reasons.

Firstly, the genetically modified vegetable and fruits are available through out the year. Even though some people argue that since these foods are not cultivated during the proper season, so they may not be healthy. However, these foods are not only healthy but also free from pesticides as they are grown under special conditions. Therefore, now a days people can get summer commodities in winters and vice versa.

Secondly, the positive effect on the economy of a countries that are practicing it. The farms using the latest techniques may create both blue and white collar jobs resulting in reducing the unemployment ratio. Also, the excessive food may be export to other countries to increase the economy and GDP growth of a country.

The most obvious reason why GM foods is the only solution is that now barren land can be used to grow crops. Earlier the crops are only grown on fertile land but now farms have been created in barren lands to grow food. Take Egypt, for example, has constructed farms that are being used for growing different kinds of vegetables and fruits. Therefore, the waste land can be used for cultivating crops.

To conclude, by using modern techniques to modify food will not only solve the problem of hunger but also provide all types of food through out the year. As a result, the unemployment rate of a country will decline and will not only create jobs but also barren land can be used for cultivation. Therefore, I strongly agree that GM foods is the best solution for feeding people.