With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that providing food to an ever-growing population is the biggest challenge for today and some people believe that genetically modified foods can provide a solution to this issue. I totally disagree with this assertion.

Undoubtedly, GM foods have their benefits. Most important of them all is that genetically modified foods can be made available throughout the year. For instance, fruits which would be available in winter can be eaten in summer and vice versa. I am very fond of mangoes which are usually available at the peak of summer. With the genetic modification technology, I can have them during any season.

Nevertheless, the negative impact of GM foods far outweigh the benefits. For example, by genetically modifying food, the DNA structure is altered and we are not sure of its health impact on humans and animals alike. According to recent research, GM foods were tested against natural foods and it was found that the former had 40% less nutritional content. Moreover, the research further stated that people were more prone to allergies by consuming artificial foods.

Furthermore, GM foods are a threat to the farming industry and unemployment. Corporations are investing heavily in growing artificial foods indoors to muster huge profits. It has been discovered that genetically modified fruits and vegetables can be grown indoors using artificial light and chemical speed process which cuts the time to grow them by half. This has led farmers to abandon farming and their lands and recent news report that many farmers have done suicide in India due to GM crops. Therefore, it can be said that GM foods have threatened the livelihood of farmers in India who constitute around 40% of the population of 1.2 billion people.

In conclusion, genetically modified foods are a substantial threat to individuals and society. Encouragement of these foods put the health of people at risk and creates unemployment and other problems for the farming industry.