Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a group of people that believe that big organizations and industries should be located outside the city premises. I think that I believe traffic and pollution can be reduced by shifting them out of cities than having them near to city centers for minor benefits.

The main advantage of relocating the industry and big corporations out of cities is that it will reduce the traffic congestion inside the city that will ultimately help in reduction of pollution. The quality of air will become better and the noise generated by the heavy vehicles will be reduced that helps in reduction of stress levels among people. Furthermore, more houses can be provided to the residents. For example, moving a Coca Cola factory on the outskirts of the City Dubai will empty up space for the construction of a housing society. Therefore, relocating industries and organizations will not only reduce the traffic and pollution but also create space for more houses to build.

Admittedly, there is a minor drawback for relocating to ruler areas and most notably is the difficulty in commuting of employees. The employer has to provide transport to its workers that will be an extra cost for them but it is not a critical issue as the companies are having big profits. For example, DuCab industry has giving pick and drop service to its employees and running four buses for this purpose. So, there is a slight disadvantage of mobility for employees when industries move out of cities but it can be solved by providing transport.

In conclusion, although by relocating industry and big companies to villages or outskirt of cities will create a minor issue for transportation but can be solved easily and have more benefits than its drawbacks.