Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Due to globalization, scientists have predicted that people will be speaking one common language in the near future. I believe that this phenomenon will have a negative impact on the culture and employment ratio of a country.

Undoubtedly, everyone speaking in a single language has its own benefits. Most important advantage will be easy communication between people. Relations between nations will improve which will result in the local and global economic growth. For instance, tourists can travel anywhere without the fear of having a language barrier. Right now, I cannot even imagine traveling to Japan without the help of an interpreter because the signboards are in their native language which is a puzzle to tourists like me.

Nevertheless, the negative effects far outweigh the positive developments. One of the most important adverse impacts will be damage to the culture of a country. Language represents the identity and culture of the people. Slowly and steadily, the local languages will perish and the history and culture will be lost with it. For example, recent research suggests that Africa has lost 80% of its indigenous languages and precious artifacts and manuscripts with historical languages are left without any translations. With the lost languages, the entire world has lost culture and history which would have been beneficial in one way or another.

Furthermore, the employment of a large section of society will be lost. Local guides and language interpreters of any country contribute a lot to the local economy. With globalization, travel has become much easier and people travel to different places nearly every time of the year. If everyone would speak the same language, no one would require guides and interpreters and it will result in the unemployment of a huge number of people.

To conclude, having a single language has its own benefits but it will create unemployment and risk the culture and history of a country. Therefore, I strongly believe that it will have a negative effect on society.