Shopping has become a new favorite pastime for the young generation. Why this is the case? Should they encourage to develop other hobbies too?

In the contemporary world, shopping has become an integral part of youngsters life, where they like to spend their leisure. The potential causes of reckless shopping are peer influence and emerging trends of fashion. However, they should be motivated to develop various pastime activities to uplift themselves in totality. In this essay, I will discuss the possible reasons for shopping along with the need for other leisure activities, in the life of the younger generation.

To begin with, there are some feasible reasons for escalated pastime shopping. For one, the disposable money in the hands of fortunate youngsters, encourage them to spend it on weekend shopping, which influences their peers to do the same. Furthermore, trendy fashion accessories have triggered their attention to updating themselves. Take the case of the data analysis of supermarkets by Florida university scholars, for instance, the colossal number newly launched products have been purchased by young customers. This has only attributed to their shopaholic nature with large money. Hence, the introduction of peer pressure and the latest fashion has influenced the young-minds to do shopping.

On the flip side, shopping alone is not enough leisure activity as others are more crucial to improve the skill set of young people. In other words, they can spend their precious time in reading as well as by performing physical and mental activities. For illustration, according to the published article of The Guardian; the individuals who are familiar with the software and technological advancements, are being selected by artificial intelligence, which is one of the emerging branches of the scientific world. Nevertheless, important free-time practices have some undeniable benefits.

To sum up, the young-minds are indulging in shopping as a part of their leisure, however; they could shun it by doing other beneficial pastime activities. It has been categorically mentioned that shopping is a kind of attraction, which is not profitable but the activities such as reading, intellectual thinking are wiser. I strongly believe that parents should be taught their children to emphasize selective hobbies that could assist them in the long run.