Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults Why is this Is it positive negative development Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

Nowadays, buying things such as clothes or a gadget has become so easy due to its easy availability at super malls and online stores. Shopping has become one of the most common form of activity that is practiced by teenagers across the globe. A possible reason for the shoppers to carry out such activity is either they are bored or stressed. However it has both it's advantages and disadvantages, i believe the positive side outweighs the negative side.

To begin with, a lot of young people consider fashion as a status symbol, they want to copy the latest trend and buy clothes accordingly. This has resulted in developing of many mega malls in big cities. For instance, teenagers often idealizes actors as a fashion icon, they want to follow them and try to pick up the clothing style that they had in their latest movies. One of the up side to this is, due to high demand of outfits, more stores and malls are being built, which helps to bring in employment and the tax paid towards these clothing can be used by the government to benefit the general public in terms of health, education and transportation.

As said earlier, shopping often results due to boredom or stress faced due to study or work. To overcome such situation, people are more likely to go for window shopping. This might result in buying stuff that are non essential, resulting into financial crisis. A research conducted by economic times shows that 47% of women tend to spend a lot on clothing and accessories when in stress, which puts them in debt.

In conclusion, the benefits that a shopping center brings to a city, such as employment and tax money is undeniable, however, managing the financial part along with it is of utmost importance.