Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Most of the people opt to go for shopping in their spare time. There can be multifarious reasons behind this phenomenon. One of these reasons can be the influence of advertisements. From my perspective, although it has some drawbacks, it is advantageous for the individuals as it keeps people aware about latest products.

The first and foremost reason why the people prefer shopping is that the advertisements are ubiquitous in this day and age. The distinct products are promoted by the renowned celebrities and these are presented in such a way that these catches the attention of the masses due to which people desire to purchase these objects as these are recommended by their favorite role model. In a recent survey, in most of indian house people use the Dabur Red paste as it becomes popular due to advertisements. Thus it manifests that promotion and recommendation of a particular thing has a profound impact on people's mind and it has ability to their alter their choices.

Shopping is beneficial for the people because they remain updated about various new trends like new techonologies which are coming in the market. Window shopping make people aware about different fashions, dresses, gadgets like tablet, mobile phones. Purchasing these things gives people feeling of joy and pleasure. For instance, some people are fond of decorating their house. Therefore, they look for the materials which they can use to decorate their house. However, shopping has some downside as well some times spend money lavishly due to which their budget of house gets disturbed and they are unable to buy necessities.

To sum up, it is evident from the aforementioned discussion that advertisements are the prominent reason for increasing the trend of shopping and despite some adverse effects it is proved to be beneficial for the people.