In many countries, young people leave rural areas to study or work in cities. What do you think are reasons of these? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, youngsters migrate from the villages to the urban areas for the purpose of getting education or finding job. There can be multifarious reasons behind this phenomenon like pitiable living conditions, poverty, scarcity of employment in the countryside. From my perspective, although there are some drawbacks of this migration, however, it is advantageous for the youth as they access quality education and variety of employment opportunities in the cities.

The first and foremost reason behind the aforementioned trend is that life in the villages is not convenient and comfortable which is totally different from the cities. Majority of people are dependent on agriculture as it is a prominent source of income for them. But it is a seasonal occupation and they remain unoccupied for several months. Therefore, they are living an impoverished life and are unable to even afford basic necessities. Thus, such circumstances drive them to move to metropolitan areas.

The major advantage of living in the cities is the availability of numerous education institutions providing a wide range of courses so the students have innumerable options and they can choose the subjects of their interest. In these organizations, the highly qualified and experienced staff are employed and they impart education by making use of advanced technology like smart board. They also teach students by preparing presentations in the form of slides. Furthermore, means of employment are also more in the cities as compared to the countryside. Since there are industries and factories are installed, these generate jobs for the people. In a survey, it is found that unemployment in the villages is 10 percent higher than that of cities. Nevertheless, major disadvantage of the cities is the environmental pollution which results in numerous health problems.

To encapsulate, it can be stated that if problems of cities are resolved, then this mutation will be proved to be beneficial for the country.