People are less fit and active nowadays than in the past. What are the reasons for this? What measures can be taken to fix this?

The fact cannot be denied that people are not as healthy in this day and age as they were before. There can be multifarious reasons behind this transformation in the health of people like changing lifestyle and increase in the stressful circumstances. By adopting certain healthy habits like doing exercise, yoga and meditation, a person can live a long and healthy life.

The first and foremost reason why the people are not fit these days is that way of living life is drastically transformed and habits of people are changing. for instance, individuals prefer to eat junk food, processed food, street food etc. which affects the people's health negatively. This is because, although it requires less effort in preparing junk food or to order cuisines from the restaurant, but such food is injurious as it can lead to increase in the hypertension anxiety, stress etc which in turn become reason of diseases like diabetes, heart problems, depression and many more. In addition to this, physical work of masses is reduced due to the technological advancement. People are dependent on machines due to which they are becoming lazy. To cite an example, children play computer games instead of playing games like football, cricket, tennis etc. which involves movement of the body.

To remain fit and get rid of diseases, it is essential to bring changes in the lifestyle. Individuals should avoid junk food and should eat seasonal vegetables and fruits as these contain essential nutrients required by the body.in other words, masses should take balanced diet. Moreover, meditation and yoga, not only improves physical health of the individuals, but also helps in makes them mentally fit by reducing their stress.

To incapisulate, it can be stated that although, in the contemporary era, due to different lifestyle from the past, people are facing problems related to health but these problems can be resolved by doing yoga and exercise.