Shopping is seen as one of the most favourite ways to spend spare time for young people. Why do you think it is happening? Should they be encouraged to spend less time on that?

Nowadays, youth tend to spend their leisure time doing shopping. This is because modern people live in the era of consumerism and juveniles are constantly bombarded by ads and promos with an appeal to purchase a new product. In my opinion, it is way better for adolescents to find other activities for their free time and society has to motivate them to do it.

The main reason why the younger generation prefers to spend their time shopping is that mass media spread ideas of constant consumption. For instance, today a person cannot consider themselves as successful without brand new clothes or mobile phones. Thus, the immature minds of youngsters fall easily under the influence of advertisements and as a result, shopping has become one of the top activities that the youth do during their free time. Another factor, which contributes to making the experience of shopping so much attractive is modern shopping centers provide plenty of opportunities for enjoyment and relaxation. There are different cafes, restaurants, cinemas, and even some amusement arcades for children in it.

Parents and society as a whole should be concerned about how much time teenagers are spending on shopping. This is because as a rule, this kind of leisure time is a wastage of time and resources/ not to mention that up growing population may develop a dangerous habit of buying unnecessary products and become shopaholics.

Consequently, the youth should be drawn to other activities such as sport and art. This way a new generation would grow up strong, healthy, and creative and would be able to contribute to the development of a country. Meanwhile, going shopping with a lack of purpose will lead them nowhere.

In conclusion, the reason behind the trend to spend spare time shopping is that the younger generation is massively affected by the policy of the major companies of selling as many products as possible. From my point of view, parents and society should make an effort to tackle this since it is not a good habit to spend free time lounging around malls.