The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences. Only government action can solve this problem.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the housing crisis is escalating in the large urban centres around the world. There is an opinion that the solution to this issue is possible only at the governmental level, otherwise, the result will be disastrous. I completely agree with the notion and believe that authorities should take immediate action.

First, the situation around the accommodation market is getting worse day after day. On one hand, real-estate prices are going through the roof and supply cannot satisfy demand. Regular citizens are not able to purchase such an expensive place for living. That is why authorities should imply new measures tackling the issue such as social housing for low-income groups, low-percentage mortgages and subsidies for household construction.

Otherwise, if the issue is not solved by the actions of the government the consequences will be terrible because millions of people will be living in unbearable and unsanitary conditions. It will bring the spreading of different diseases and pandemics. Unfortunately, the initiative of individual citizens will not be effective as measures implemented by the government due to the scale of the problem. Only authorities have the possibility to allocate a significant amount of money from

the municipal budget to the social construction.

In conclusion, I totally agree that without government actions the issue of housing deficiency will lead to an enormous falling standard of living among citizens all over the world. As a result, millions of people will be forced to live in slums with all the negative consequences such as various diseases.