Should government or teachers be responsible for what is to be taught in schools?

Education plays a pivotal role in people's life and it becomes paramount to provide the right education to children. It has been a topic of hot debate whether the curriculum of school ought to be decided by the bureaucrats or the teachers. In my opinion, I deem that it should be the government's responsibility as they can take adept actions all across the globe.

One of the prominent reasons why such a decision should be in the hands of the government is because they can take a universal step. In other words, a government can take the right action for the whole nation, and this way all children can have an equal level of education. For example, in a large country like India, it becomes very arduous to maintain the education level and during such times if the government takes responsibility, it can be a boon not only for the children but also the society as a whole.

Another major merit of having the government take the decision about the school subject is that they can stay updated with the latest norms of the world. Whereas, if teachers would have taken this responsibility, they would work with diligence but continue teaching the same things which will create a void in a child's life. When the government takes such a decision, they can change the syllabus according to future projections and what is beneficial for the children. To illustrate, the Indian government recently passed a law that language programming such as Python and JAVA should be taught to primary children because it is currently in vogue.

In recapitulation, having the government take the responsibility of deciding on the curriculum would ensure that there is no discrimination among the people and they learn what's best for their future. I deem that all governments around the globe should take a keen interest in school and try to broaden children's horizons as they are the future of the nation.