Some people believe that the problem of illegal drugs can be solved by just legalising all drugs.

To what extent do you agree of disagree?

Drugs have been a hot potato in recent decades and the conundrum caused by it is observed in not only developed nations but also in the third-world countries. One solution proposed is to legalise all types of drugs. In my opinion, I deem that legalising the drugs is not the optimum solution as it will create a hazardous situation and there are better remedies possible.

To commence with, one of the prominent reasons why legalising drugs should not be done is because it will become easily available for the citizens. In other words, because drugs are illegal right now, people who use it need to smuggle them and it becomes quite arduous for them. Whereas, when it is possible for people to buy it legally, they would not fear anything. This would create a detrimental situation especially for children because even they would try their hands at it. To illustrate, Uruguay is a country that has made it possible to buy drugs from pharmacies so it is just stones throw away for people to get it.

On the other hand, if the government of the nation wants to curb the issue of illegal drugs, then the correct way would be to create awareness amongst the citizens. By doing so, people will understand the demerits of it and how perilous it can be for them. This can be done in several ways: one of them would be to start from the grassroots level. When children know the problems associated with drugs, they would shun their use. Another way can be to run campaigns so even the adults and illiterate can benefit from it.

Lastly, strict policies ought to be implemented to shun drug mafias from running their business in a country. Also, on a local level, strict surveillance can be fruitful to solve the problem of drugs. Canada is one of the best examples which has benefitted from implementing these rules.

In recapitulation, legalising drugs will only augment the issues caused by drugs. Hence, I reckon that the bureaucrats should use another alternative measure to deal with the plight of drugs.