Should long term job-seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work to give something back to society?

This essay agrees that Long term-unemployed adults who receive government benefits should also be mandated to do voluntary work to give something back to the community. Firstly, it would be beneficial for the unemployed people are they would gain relevant skills. Secondly, the government will save welfare money in the long run, which can be invested elsewhere.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why the long term unemployed should be forced to do charity tasks so that they can return some value to society. However, the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that performing charity work might lead to them developing employable skills that they might be lacking in the first place. Being out of work for an extended period can be very detrimental to the confidence of the job seeker. Moreover, their skills might have lost relevance to the job market over time. Voluntary work might give them the chance to sharpen their work skills and gaining lost confidence, thus adding to the quality of the workforce, which benefits society. For example, the MHRD ministry of UK reported that there was an overwhelming 44 percent rise in the morale and skills of the unemployed workforce after implementing the work for the food program.

Another key justification for the fact is that this will result in savings for the authorities in the long run. Many out of work, adults claim unemployment benefits without bothering to look for work actively. If the government directs them to do community tasks, they might feel motivated enough to secure a job. Furthermore, the money saved from the decrease in the number of people claiming out of work perks frees up government resources, which can be invested in other areas of society. Thus, benefitting the society at large. Take, for example, the country of Sweden, which has saved a staggering 44 million pounds after it started work for benefit programs for the out of work adults. The money saved was used to provide free education to orphan children.

In conclusion, the pros of making voluntary work compulsory for job seekers who draw benefits from the authorities are many. The society benefits from accrual in savings from not sustaining these benefits, and the number of workforce increases, Hence the government should make it mandatory for people to work in charities in order to draw unemployment benefits.