Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In my opinion, most of the long-term job seekers who receive government benefits usually take the job for granted. Hence, they get too comfortable with the benefits and job security that they tend to forget their social responsibilities towards the community and locality. If they are made to do voluntary work they will get out of their comfort zones and look at the bigger picture for the community and its well-being.

There are many workers from various NGOs who are working for welfare of the locality without thinking of benefits or rewards. If the job seekers have a sedentary life style this work will bring a certain amount of joy alongwith welfare for the society. A few things that they can take up as voluntary work could be : cleanliness campaign, teaching skills to the kids, gardening to beautify the local areas, creative decoration of walls to beautify the surroundings and add an aesthetic appeal, helping the healthcare workers with their skills etc.

Moreover, job seekers are well-educated & have good skill sets. If they take some time out from their schedules and teach the kids voluntarily, the kids will not only learn new skills efficiently but also interact with all kinds of people and learn life lessons. The work life is sedentary and helping clean and beautify the surroundings will add a creative spark to the community and the people doing it.

During my job tenure, I use to help people with free coaching classes of poor students who are unable to pay for private tution. This way you can help others as well as students can have better knowledge to enlighten their future.