Write about the following topic:

‘Children do not respect their parents as much as they did in the past. This behaviour is now having a negative impact on society.’ Discuss.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In the current era, we have observed that children do not respect their parents like in earlier times. Eventually, this strange behaviour is creating a negative impact on society. It is often argued that this is not the correct way of parenting, while other believe that it is happening due to the generation gap. This article agrees that the main reason behind this unexpected behaviour is the parenting issue. This essay will discuss both views.

It is quite common that parents are not communicating well within themselves which is creating a wrong impact in children's minds. Children learn the basic communication etiquette from their parents. But, it is often observed that parents are not respecting each other while doing general conversations. It is therefore completely agreed that changing way of showing respect is resulting from their own parents. Eventually, they stop respecting them. For example, due to various professional or personal issues working parents are not behaving well with each other which is affecting their children massively.

In the other hand, aged people in society trust that due to the generation gap kids are neglecting the old ways to show respect towards only the older generation. Current generation believes that respect is a give-and-take policy. Hence, they tend to express negative way of behaviour if they don’t get the same. So, this essay disagrees that children are only behaving following their parents. For example, our society follows some ethics which younger people never follow the same.

It has been noticed that in past children used to respect their parents whereas nowadays, they don't. That's why, negative thoughts are affecting the society a lot. I personally experienced similar behaviour recently from a school student who behaved wrongly with an old aged person. However, in my opinion, we should know the possible ways to respect others or own parents.