Should young people follow older people’s example or it’s good for them to challenge older people’s opinions and thoughts. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on how young citizens should plan their future. Some assert that they should copy the older generations’ path. While I would agree with others who encourage young people to think differently.

The fact that young people could better fit in society is one of the reasons why people are in favour of following tradition. This because in many countries, people still have a stereotype of what a woman or man should do, and following this stereotype will make an individual more acceptable in society. For example, many girls want to be an elementary school teacher or a nurse, as these jobs are the most ideal jobs for a female. And women who conduct these jobs are the most popular ones in the marriage market. Therefore, following the tradition is beneficial to become popular in society.

Nevertheless, I agree with people who believe challenging old traditions is a better choice. The reason is that people live in an ever-changing world, which means what worked before might not work in modern society. For instance, in the past, people believed that men and women should get married in their 20s, however, this is impractical to modern young couples. This is because most young citizens are either busy with pursuing a higher degree or building up their careers in their 20s. Starting a family at such an early age will make these ambitious young people lose chances to achieve their potential and become less competitive in society.

In conclusion, it is true that follow the old steps will benefit people in some way, but I would argue young generations should try to make changes, as only by doing this, they can keep up with fast development of the world, and become more competent in society.