Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Raising a disciplined child is like pulling out your teeth. The handful of people believe that physical punishment is the best way to control their behavior.

This essay will argue why smacking children is the incorrect approach in an attempt to inculcate good habits within them.

On the one hand, parents believe that punishing children for their unacceptable behavior will help them to learn the right manners which will long last in their mind. And, this will refrain them from behaving in the same way for which they got punished. Instead of repeatedly instructing children to be disciplined, they keep ignoring those guidelines and continue with the same behavior, forcing parents to be harsh with them. Many times penalizing physically is an easy and quick method to teach lessons to the youth for their bad behavior. For example, mother smacks the child talking bad words while communicating with others. These instances have shown why parents are in favor of punishing approach to raising the disciplined children.

Despite several arguments provided on how the method of smacking children is a good to raise well-mannered children, I completely disagree with it. Firstly, a child who is often punished physically can grow up an aggressive and impatient adult. Taking out aggression on every small thing becomes its normal behavior. Secondly, they also lack self-confidence and might face serious depression at the early age. Thirdly, children might feel insecure with parents and disrespect elders. Overall, thinking that idea of smacking children is the best approach to discipline is dangerous in itself and may result in raising up aggressive and depressive adults.

In conclusion, this essay argued few reasons why people support smacking children method to raise a disciplined child and how such parenting style can have numerous adverse effects on child's personality. In my opinion, it is an entirely unacceptable method to teach discipline to children.