Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some people prefer to keep children regulated. According to them, punishment is the best approach to instill discipline among children. This essay will argue why smacking is not helpful at all in raising children although it was slightly effective in the past.

Regulating children by punishing them was a common way in the past, and still, some people follow the same. These people are very much harsh whenever their children commit something wrong. Children were also aware of the fact that they will face zero tolerance action when something went rogue. Hence, they fearfully abide by their parent's, guardian's or teacher's unwritten rules which had brought positive result in some cases. An investigation on the primary schools in Bangladesh suggests that the schools which have punishment system get the best results in almost all competitive exam and parents are also interested in admitting their children on those schools. So, regulating children via the age-old way is still valid.

Despite the validity of the age-old way to discipline children, smacking children is criticized by everyone nowadays. With the advent of methodologies to analyze child psychology, experts are suggesting that punishment may bring the short-term result of good behavior but, it comes with long term psychological damage for children. Also, there is another concerning matter which is also backed up by the experts in drug addiction management consultants of rehabilitation centers is that early childhood damage leads children to drug addiction later in the future. Those who were the victims of the childhood trauma of bad parenting, they are more likely to be inclined towards drug addiction. As nowadays parents and teachers are more concerned regarding the drug-free psychological health of children, it is logical that they will despise smacking children.

This essay argued that people who are the supporters of smacking children look out for short-term benefits of controlling their children over long term benefit of raising their children with sound psychological health. In my opinion, punishing children in regulating their manner is simply unacceptable although there is a little benefit involved.