More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause > What do you think are the possible solutions ?

Citizens of developing nations are buying a lot of private vehicles. The principle problem this causes is traffic congestion and the most viable solution is to plan on road facility before putting loads on the roads.

The primary dilemma developing countries face when their citizens start to buy cars is traffic jams. That is because each and everyday people are purchasing cars but road facility to accommodate those are not increasing every day. For example, according to Bangladesh Bureau of Statistics, everyday 29 new private modes of transport are added into the road of Dhaka city which leads to huge congestion and in peak hours the whole city becomes standstill. This leads to the wastage of working hours.

A long term solution is to plan on expanding the road facility before allowing citizens to purchase personal vehicles. This could solve the problem of traffic congestion if proper lane facility is present beforehand to run newly added vehicles. For example, the Mayor of Dhaka City Corporation recently committed to creating separate lanes for private transport in the city road facility. This, hopefully, will help city dwellers move easily during the congested hours.

In conclusion, with the development of country's economy, people tend to buy a lot of private cars to move from place to place but the unplanned increase will lead to heavy traffic in the office hours and a proper road facility is required to tackle the added congestion. It is often recommended that car owner should think about the road facility before deciding on the purchase.