More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause > What do you think are the possible solutions ?

It is observed that an increasing number of residents from developing nations are procuring private means of transport, such as cars. This essay will discuss pollution as a significant problem of a large number of private vehicles and will deduce that a reliable solution is improving standards of public transport.

One major problem of this development is pollution. Globalization has improved the economy of countries worldwide, and it now plausible for people to buy cars which were once luxury commodities. The increased number of vehicles has caused the air to be contaminated with toxic pollutants, as a result of which the global carbon footprint has surged. Another factor cars contribute to is noise pollution. Cumulatively, both these forms of pollution has made it difficult for people to live healthy lives. For example, Delhi declared a health emergency after the polluted smog infected people's respiratory system, and consequently, many people were reported to have had convulsions.

One possible and viable solution to the issue at hand, is enhancing public transport facilities. People are buying cars because it is affordable, comfortable and convenient. If public transport were to improve its standards then people would not be as dependent on cars, thereby reducing the overall emissions. A greater number of routes and better travelling conditions would facilitate increased usage of it. For instance, people in Mumbai prefer travelling by the metro train instead of driving their cars because it is air-conditioned, fast and easily accessible.

In conclusion, while possessing cars can make it convenient for citizens of developing countries, improvised public transport systems would be a sanguine development at the aid of countries subject to intense pollution.