We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in business, hospital, crime detection and even to fly planes. What things will they be used for in the future? Is this dependence on computer a good things or should we be more suspicious of their benefits ?

Computers have become a reliable medium to communicate and automate work in several industries, such as the finance, medical, and the travel industry. It is replacing man power because of the productivity and accuracy delivered in comparison to human labor. Moreover with the advent of artificial intelligence, computers will be capable of emulating human intelligence and logic in the near future.

Humans have known to be the most intelligent power unit with a keen and decisive instinct to decipher right from wrong. However, with advancements in the field of information technology, computers will adapt cognitive processing of information to conclude decisions. For example, they will be capable of replacing language experts or simulating multiple flights at an airport. These tasks require adroitness and intelligence, a combination which is hard to find in humans. Therefore one could imagine that computers could replace highly skilled jobs such as that of machines, teachers and pilots.

While it is widely believed that such developments are positive, automation of processes, once done by humans, could be a premonition of unemployment. If processes become highly automated, organizations would not need employees but robots or computers to complete tasks. Many people would not have jobs for their survival, and the economy could decline because of low expenditures by people. Hence, such developments should be used with the awareness of its consequences on the job market.

In conclusion, although computers give us overarching benefits, its usage must be balanced along with human labor to maintain employment. if computers are used to improve working conditions such as labor intensive jobs, the developments in the field of computers could be sanguine.