In many countries, the amount of crime is increasing. What do you think are the main causes of crime ? How can we deal with those causes ?

At a global level, an increasing crime rate has caused damage to several countries reputation, property and people's sentiments. In my opinion an escalation in crime numbers are a result of lenient criminal laws and social problems that are incessantly ignored by legal organizations and governments.

Many countries tend to legislate lenient laws fro criminals as an opportunity for reform. However this has caused people to take the law for granted. For example, sexual harassment is penalized with just two years of jail term. Such kind of crimes are often repeated. An ideal way of dealing with this is having much more stringent laws leaving no room for criminal incitement.

Secondly, criminal rates increase in countries that face poverty. The poor and deprived do not have enough money to afford basic necessities which makes them venal at a very young age. For instance, children learn to rob food from shops for their survival. This instills the attitude of a criminal which is arduous to change at the later stages of life. Governments and NGO's must pay keen attention to the issue of poverty and help them with food, shelter, education and counselling.

Finally, a majority of crimes are committed due to psychological disorders. There is inadequate attention paid to one's mental health. In a time of stiff competition, peoples decisions are driven by unstable mindsets and lack of rationale. For example, Bipolar patients cannot control their anger and this could prove their culpability towards harming someone. Therefore,people must pay avid attention to their mental health while governments can help by raising awareness programs.

In conclusion, while crime rates have surged due to lackadaisical laws and ignorance of social problems, it remains plausible to set the figures right by having strict laws, good amenities for the poor and improving peoples mental health.