International marketing is sometimes seen as invasive and intrusive. Others argue that it is a necessary and an economical form of education in addition to spreading ideas, language and culture.

Word count : 358

Occasionally, it is observed that international marketing disrupts existing markets in countries. Whereas, some are of the opinion that it is required for affordable education and communication. In my perspective, while it spreads awareness and encourages creativity across nations, it is a stronger force in undermining a countries financial market.

To begin with, International marketing intimidates local producers who abdicate their position in the market because they are not able to compete with well established businesses. Globalization has caused companies to expand their customer base across shores. International marketing enables them to develop a reputation in a foreign country. Consequently, local producers lose a major share of their revenue to global giants who have capital, capacity and quality. For example, until Siemens adequately designed marketing campaign in India, the Indian company Godrej was renowned for its electrical devices such as fridges. The proliferation of Siemens in the Indian market forced Godrej to limit its production units all over India. Hence, international marketing could affect the position of local producers in existing markets, decrease their profits and result in a decline in the economy.

Additionally, consumers pay a cost for a monopoly harbored by international marketing strategies. Advertising campaigns help companies establish a sound position in foreign markets and they quickly become a monopoly, so to benefit higher profit margins, they increase the pricing of products. Moreover, the same quality of products are unattainable by other producers who maintain a similar market rate irrespective of the quality. For instance, Samsung caters to a major market share globally and are priced at a higher range. Whereas, LG which does not produce relatively reliable gadgets, maintains a similar rate in Asian markets. Therefore, at the end of the day, the cost is borne by the consumer.

In conclusion, while international marketing can foster competition, companies that use it as an aid for expansion intrude markets at the cost of other producers, consumers and the economy of a country. This does not mean that international marketing must be avoided entirely but it should be regulated by governments to ensure stability between the different components of an economical system to promote better developments.