Smacking children is the best form of discipline.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smacking children has become increasingly popular in certain demographics of society. Some parents claim that it is the best way to raise and teach manners to children. From my vantage point, physical punishment is entirely unnecessary. Reasons to prove my point of view will be covered in the following paragraphs.

Parents are constantly concern about the way their children behave around the family and other people. Therefore, by their standard smacking is the only way to dictate proper behavior. To be more specific, some parents believe that children would behave better if they fear of getting smacked. In addition, pain that comes with physical punishment deters children from committing uncertain acts that are unacceptable in our society. Indeed, there are times that this form of parenting can be useful when all other options not affecting the child’s behavior. overall, physical punishment gain popularity among parents as a result of a few instances that changed the children’s action and forced them to behave.

Despite some examples that smacking children have actually been beneficial, the idea that physical punishment is the best form of discipline is completely preposterous. This form of parenting would result in unfixable physical problems that would stay with the child for the rest of his/her life. Also, as a result of physical punishment, there are children who would suffer from a great deal of mental and emotional problems. It has been proven that children would behave better if parents approach them differently. For example, a study shows that talking to children about the consequences of their actions have a significantly higher effect on their behavior. In brief, the days of using force as a way of parenting are long gone and modern ways have proven to be more successful.

In conclusion, this essay argued that why some parents are in favor of smacking their offsprings. From a practical standpoint, I am completely against this form of parenting and believe that raising a child does not require a physical punishment.