Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

smoking is a habit to which once addicted can have a devastating effect on the health of the human being. While there are many people who argue that smoking should be banned in public places as it not only affects the health of nearby people but smoker as well. I staunchly agree with this statement and opine that smoking should be completely banned as it has ill effects on the health of the active smoker and passive smokers. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate with relevant examples.

Firstly cigarette has a large amount of nicotine which is the root cause of creating health problems. As has been proven by medical science smoking can cause deadly diseases like lung cancer, throat cancer and respiratory problems which can affect not only the smoker but nearby people too. Although the risk of developing such problems for a non-smoker is minimal however there are still some cases in which non-smokers health has been affected. For instance in India as per the recent survey conducted by the World Health Organization, it has been reported that around 30% of non-smokers have developed respiratory problems from smoking.

Additionally, smoking not only adds air pollution but tobacco waste can be found in public places which further pollutes the environment. The effects can be seen near most of the gardens and public gathering places in India as reported by a leading newspaper where piles of garbage proliferation from tobacco products and smoking buds can be found hence affecting not only the health of the local non-smoking population but the environment as well.

To conclude it can be seen from the above arguments that smoking causes both health problems as well as environmental hazards hence in my opinion, it should be completely banned from public places.