Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have a risk. Do you think that advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that internet community or public networks enhance its popularity across the whole humane race. Nevertheless, providing private data on the Facebook or other popular social platforms brings some risk. This essay will argue that the disadvantages of social media outweigh the benefits. This essay will first provide the evidence of high possibility of personal data excessive usage and safety risk for less protected, vulnerable age group like kids and seniors, followed by an analysis of positive influence from new way of communication.

The main drawback of sharing personal details in the Internet is advertising spam, fulfillment of the registration form in social network allows advertising companies to set targeting tools directly to this person, promoting some goods or services. That is to say that social network profile become an object for marketing or for social research, despite the initial aim of join such community for making new friend or social links. Current social targeting vehicles are the huge business which take roots particularly from the social networks. Moreover, defenseless age groups like young children or elderly people could face up with frauds, for example when they start to communicate with new friend from social platform and he or she asking victims to send money in order to save the cat.

Those opposed to this essay that social media brings significant pleasant effect on different spheres of peoples lives. First of all such novelty allows people to keep links for ages, simply scrolling the Facebook feed and monitor the posts with photos, they could stay in touch. However, such demonstration of personal information may attract attention of advertisers or even villains.

In conclusion, the fact that vulnerability of private data within the social media is an obvious drawback it could limit the attractiveness of its usage.