Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have a risk. Do you think that advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

It is often argued that popularity of online networks with users of all ages is growing dramatically, yet feeding personal data to these platforms is unsafe. This essay will argue that the disadvantages of social media outweigh their benefits. It will first provide the evidence of high likelihood of personal data leak and safety risk for less protected and vulnerable age group like children and seniors, followed by an analysis of their positive influence on way of communication.

The main drawbacks of sharing personal details on the Internet are advertising spam and fraud, that have undesirable implications. During the process of registration, new users disclose their real names, banking details, and cell phone numbers, which advertising companies take advantage of, by setting targeting tools and promoting some goods or services. That is to say that social network profile becomes an object for marketing or social research, despite the fact the initial user’s aim was to join the community and make new friends or social links. Current social targeting vehicles are the huge business which take roots particularly from the social networks, such as Instagram. Moreover, defenseless age groups like young children or the elderly could fall prey to frauds, when they start to communicate with a stranger.

Those opposed to this say that social media have brought a positive effect to different realms of people’s lives. First of all, such novelty allows people to keep social links for ages, simply scrolling the Facebook feed and monitoring the posts with photos. However, such demonstration of personal information may attract attention of advertisers or even villains.

In conclusion, the fact that vulnerability of private data within the social media is an obvious drawback that could limit the attractiveness of its usage for exchanging ideas.