Social media marketing can influence what consumers buy. Do you agree or disagree? To what extent do you agree?

One of the most prominent aspects of the 21st Century is the online marketing trend, which has influenced youngsters. More and more companies are promoting their goods and services through various social media applications to attract people. I strongly advocate that social media persuade a user’s shopping trend and choices, especially, youths; but, most of the elderly generation are reluctant to buy products online.

While on social media, masses are constantly bombarded with advertisements of various products that are specially designed to intrigue the potential consumers. Most of these adverts on the news feed are not random; the artificial intelligence tracks the search patterns or something in trend and displays the suggestions. As a result of the latest trend among teenagers, they are always most likely to get influenced easily. As per the recent survey conducted by the American Fashion Week Magazine, it was concluded that the sale of products purchased by the youth, which were advertised on several social platforms, has doubled over the past few years.

On the other hand, elderly people do not tend to incline towards new changes easily, as they are comfortable with the traditional methods of shopping. Most of the old age people like to touch and feel the fabric of the cloth or quality of products before purchasing it because they are not impressed easily and choose the best option. To illustrate, my mother does not believe what she sees online and would argue that the products vary in real life as seen on social applications.

In conclusion, although social media can be alluring for the current generation, older people go with their instincts. In my opinion, everyone should buy products according to their requirements instead of being influenced by sites; however, the older generation needs to upgrade themselves and utilize the technology.