Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

Essay topics

Every living creature on the Earth has the right to live freely, and no one should be deprived of freedom. I concur that a zoo is futile; therefore, in this essay, I will elaborate my view with the help of several examples.

To begin with, there are numerous drawbacks of keeping animals tied against their will. Primarily, the health of these animals and birds is miserable due to unhygienic living conditions such as irregular baths, dirty habitats, and impure drinking water; as a result, they are either depressed or agitated in captivity. For Instance, In India, an ape killed his keeper in rage when he opened the cage to provide food. Conversely, there are several alternatives that should be opted, one of which is the wildlife safaris where animals can roam freely in their natural habitats, and the interested humans can visit them in a closed truck.

Moreover, most of these animals and birds who are held captivated are either emaciated or ill. The quantity of food provided to faunas is mostly insufficient, and some of them are on the verge of death due to the poor food quality. Furthermore, few people tease and bully them for personal entertainment like by throwing bottles, or imitating them. To illustrate, In the year 2005, in an incident a man died after falling into cage of a hungry Lion.

In conclusion, keeping these animals and birds in the zoo has resulted pernicious for the wildlife and humans. The Government and various organizations should encourage people to choose other options like wildlife sanctuaries should immediately shut down these zoos.