Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should only read serious educational books What is your opinion

Over recent years, children have developed a habit of reading varieties of books such as autobiographies and other novels. Some people assert that reading entertainment books are a complete wastage of time that should be utilized for acquiring knowledge through educational books. In my opinion, both book types have their benefits, and enable a child to broaden his horizons.

To embark upon, one of the advantages of reading various entertainment books is the development of better vocabulary. The children tend to come across a lot of unfamiliar words which they search in a dictionary, and subsequently, add to their latest vocabulary. In a recent survey, the Education Society found that students who read books apart from their curriculum have a better sense of language, and are able to express themselves better with the help of new words.

However, the significance of educational books cannot be overlooked. Firstly, these books are written by highly qualified professionals, who include important concepts about history, geography, and Civics. It is essential to teach students such subjects to enlighten them about major historical events and other climate conditions around the world. Secondly, the future of the youngsters is dependent on the grades achieved in a school, which can be obtained by reading the serious educational books. For instance, Some prestigious universities give admission on the basis of the final grades attained by a student.

In conclusion, although entertainment books help in developing an overall persona of a child, educational books provide fundamental and basic information needed to succeed in life. Parents should encourage their offsprings to maintain an equilibrium between both the views.