In many countries students take a year off after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

There is no doubt that the trend of taking a year break after the completion of school and before starting the college courses has risen tremendously. In this write up, I will highlight the benefits and drawbacks of this new direction.

To start with the positives, a significant advantage is that students can explore the possibilities and get prepared for the future assignments. For instance, in this time children can learn new languages, or can enroll in a course, which can provide them the extra credits. As a result, the candidates will have an edge over their competition, and get admitted to the desired college. Moreover, teenagers nowadays are interested in travelling to other nations prior commencing another phase of their life. This is because, some of them might be interested in doing any voluntary work, other might find it refreshing to gain knowledge about the diverse cultures.

However, taking the year off can have some disadvantages too, the most obvious one of which is loss of track due to the long gap. For example, some of the students may fall into the trap of bad influence, they might start using drugs, alcohols, and other harmful substances. This will definitely sabotage their future. Furthermore, youngsters may be diverted from their path, if they start earning their livelihood. Such an environment is likely to curtail their interest for the further education. Children are the future of nation, and such mishaps can affect the entire nation’s progress.

In conclusion, although having year gap can broaden the horizons of the students by providing a better vision of the society and various culture, it can also deviate them from the right path and their future would jeopardize.