Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Chaos arises when there’s imbalance in nature. The same applies to our society, there are some people who follow rules and regulations diligently and then there are others who take for granted due to which the issues and problems are occurring in the community. I partially agree to the statement and wish to explain my views in further detail.

We live in a secular country meaning, our society comprises of numerous individuals pertaining to different levels and parts of society. The rules and regulations are enforced by the government in our society to ensure that the peace is maintained in between the various individuals of the society. If anyone of the individuals were to ignore them do as they pleased and the cycle would continue, there would be turmoil in the society. For instance, there are various laws listed by the government for the society to be educated. It is not possible for everyone in the country to have the leisure of spending money on education, hence there are certain laws made for the poorer section of the society to achieve institutional and financial stability.

Our education system is made to include anyone and everyone who wishes to enroll themselves. Although, this might be true for the needy, some take advantage of such laws and exempt themselves from truly helping the society. I have gone through such experience myself. In my case, a certain individual had the liberty of being exempted from paying the complete amount of annual education fees only because he or she belonged to a poorer section of the society. In spite of having a better financial status they chose to take advantage of this situation. In my opinion this is exploitation of the rules and not a fair game for the other individuals. That individual’s seat could have been offered or given to someone who is in need of exemption due to his or her background and then it would have been justified.

In summary, all the above points suggest that in spite of having rules and regulations in the society, we as a community lack social awareness and are being selfish. The people are anyway doing what they desire by knowing the statute of limitations and knowing how to avoid them at best.