In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

It is indisputable that children’s safety is vital for society’s development. For this reason, a curfew, which forbids children to be out without adults at night time, was imposed in many areas of the United States. I believe it is a positive development as not only does it benefit children but also society.

One of the primary points to consider is that a curfew has a positive influence on children's security. This is because night time is known to be the main period of criminals, such as fraudsters or bandits, activity and a curfew protects children from meeting them. Moreover, this measure makes almost impossible for teenagers attending night clubs where drug dealers usually spread their pills and powder. Thus, by adhering to the rules, children appear to be under parental control all the night time that, ultimately, seems to prevent them from a harmful influence.

Another important argument is that the decision not to allow children walking outside without adults would seem to benefit society in the long run. In other words, the fewer children are undergone adverse influence, the healthier and more sustainable society they will constitute in the future. For example, youngsters who became addicted to narcotics appear not to be able to create strong relationships, families, and to give birth to healthy offspring. On the contrary, children who were brought up under the parental control are more likely to do that.

In conclusion, I reckon that imposing a curfew is a positive development which have a beneficial effect on both society and teenagers.