Some believe that it is beneficial to show foreign films while others feel this can have a negative impact on local culture.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a growing debate on whether broadcasting foreign movies has adverse impacts on the development of domestic culture. In my opinion, I strongly support importing movies from different countries since this is a great way to improve local people’s world cultural knowledge. Even though there is a risk of cultural assimilation from watching foreign movies, if countries can moderate the frequency of foreign movies shown on television and at the cinema, this risk can be mitigated effectively.

On the one hand, integrating international content into broadcasting schedules can develop people’s cultural proficiency in the world context. Through watching foreign movies, the world audience can become virtual globetrotters who can visit any country and learn about any culture they want, such as witnessing the glamour of Paris in the masterpiece Les Miserable or immersing in the local Indian life in the Oscar-winner Slumdog Millionaire. If foreign movies were not available, people would lose one of the precious opportunities to enrich their knowledge about world cultures, limiting the development of their cultural proficiency as a whole.

On the other hand, access to international content may cause cultural assimilation to some parts of a community. For example, in Vietnam, many young Korean drama fanatics prefer sporting Korean style clothes and refuse to wear their traditional attires. This assimilation, although may initially happen at a small scale, can proliferate and wreak havoc on the whole local culture, resulting in the loss of cultural identity to some groups of people within this community. Therefore, the fear of culture loss due to watching foreign movies is valid.

Even though foreign movies can pose a threat to the sustainability of local cultures, if countries have well-balanced broadcasting schedules between international and domestic content, this threat can be greatly alleviated. One example is in Canada, at least half of the content on Netflix, the most popular movie-on-demand service in the country, is required by law to be domestically produced. As a result, Canadians have been able to enjoy a large number of foreign movies while successfully preserving their cultural identity. Since the main problem can be addressed, there is no reason countries have to censor outside content, which can further lead to a huge disadvantage in the development of local people's world cultural understanding.

In conclusion, countries should promote foreign movies because of the tremendous benefits of world culture knowledge people can reap and the fact that the risk of cultural assimilation can be significantly reduced. It is hopeful that in the future, there will be more fascinating movies from all countries so that people can learn more about other cultures in the world.