Some believe that modern technology has made people less socially active, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, technology has grown by leaps and bound. In particular, communication has become faster, simpler and cheaper, that makes it easier to connect with people across the world seamlessly. Having said that, few argue that such technological development has caused people to become socially isolated and inactive, whereas some people object to this view. Even I to agree with the former's view and this essay will discuss both these viewpoint in detail and support my opinion with examples.

It is an undeniable fact that the revolution in communication technology is certainly a boom to society. Especially, With the latest advancement such as 4G internet and sophisticated mobile technology, just a click of a button is enough to connect with people in any part of the world through even video calls. While mobile applications such as Facebook and Whats app allow us to socialize with our personal circle, platforms such as Linkedin enables us to connect with our professional network to explore better opportunities. Despite its contribution to several positive developments, the fact that people spend most of their time with these electronic gadgets is totally undeniable, and that is really a serious social concern.

Technology distanced people from each other at home and workplace physically. For example, people barely interact with someone around them. The main reason for this undesirable trend is that such people are either responding to someone via text or attending calls on their mobile phones. Moreover, people nowadays even refuse to talk or participate in public gatherings which is one of the adverse effects the above said high-end technological developments. For example, one of the regional daily contains an article about how modern-day kids are affected socially in the era of the internet. It emphasizes the fact that kids engross themselves in smartphones, eventually becoming virtually social.

In conclusion, although the latest technological advancement has contributed to countless benefit to the community as a whole, the adverse effect it has on the social life of the present generation cannot be disregarded. Unless people use technology wisely, they may end up allowing it to exploit them.